Erase mac hard drive without startup disk

This is like cloning your hard drive and keeping it for some time.

You can manually back up all your files and apps by copying everything to an external drive or iCloud. It allows to recover individual files and restore your whole hard drive in the event of a catastrophe. However, before you use Time Machine, make sure to clean up your Mac. Plus, a backup will go faster and more smoothly if your Mac is not cluttered. For a quick cleanup, you can use a utility like CleanMyMac X.

7 feasible solutions to fix Macintosh HD not mounted/showing up in Disk Utility

It will help you remove large and old files, useless apps, caches, and system junk in two clicks. Note that your first backup may take a long time, depending on how many files you have. Once your files are backed up, next be sure to disable any services that are associated with your system, including iTunes, iCloud, and iMessage, and deactivate programs on your Mac. Did you know, you can authorize up to 5 computers, which means that you can play your content just on 5 different Macs? FileVault plays an important role on your Mac.

Step 2: Sign out of everything

It encrypts the data on your hard drive to prevent the unauthorized access to the information on your startup disk. Sign out of iCloud to make sure that any remnants of the cloud data, such as bookmarks, notes, reminders, etc. Before you restore Mac to factory settings, be sure to sign out of iMessage. To ensure that all information is cleared from the Touch Bar, you need to erase its data.

Step-by-step Guide to Reset Mac to Factory Settings - Blog - MacKeeper™

Follow these steps:. The following steps will tell you how to restore Mac to factory settings.

This is pretty simple. Go to the Apple menu in the top left corner of your screen and choose Restart. When the process is complete, go the Disk Utility menu in the top left corner of your screen and select Quit Disk Utility.

What is the recovery HD and features does it have?

However, if you are not going to keep your Mac, it would be better to quit the process and let the new owner enter all necessary information. Simply hold down the Command and Q keys and then choose Shut Down to turn the Mac off but leave it waiting for a new user.

First, you'll need to sign out of all of your accounts, especially iTunes , which limits you to using the app on only five computers. First up: iTunes. You'll need to enter your Apple ID and password and then hit the Deauthorize button. Next up: iCloud.

You'll be asked if you want to keep a copy of your iCloud data on your Mac, but it doesn't matter how you answer because you're going to be erasing everything in a second anyway.


  • How should I erase my hard drive before I give it away? - Ask Leo!;
  • Can’t erase your Mac’s startup disk? Try Internet Recovery as a last resort.
  • show folders in finder mac?
  • alfa network awus036h driver mac download.
  • Guide | How to Factory Reset MacBook/iMac Without Losing Data – EaseUS.
  • como formatear desde cero mac;
  • grown up mac and cheese barefoot.

The important thing is that you're signed out. And rest assured, the data you have stored with iCloud will remain.

How to restore your Mac to factory settings

Next up: Messages. Choose your iMessage account, then click Sign Out. If you're handing down your old Mac to your kid or someone else in your house, then it's a good idea to unpair any Bluetooth devices from it so your mouse or keyboard controls your new Mac and doesn't interfere with your old one.

To enter recovery mode, restart your Mac and immediately press and hold Command-R. You can release the keys when you see the Apple logo.

Next, you'll see the MacOS Utilities window. Choose Disk Utility , click Continue and select your startup disk -- unless you renamed it, odds are it's labeled Macintosh HD or something similar. Next, click the Erase button at the top of the Disk Utility window and fill out these three fields:.